Revelations

Gallery

I had a busy social experience yesterday which did not allow me to post on the site. I was creating a new for Chameleon and networking with potential artists and musicians. I was listening to Savoir Adore, an amazing indie band from Brooklyn, New York. They covered “Pop Goes the World” from Men at Work and “We Talk Like Machines” and “Dreamers.”

Yesterday, I scoped through the site of Kickstarter to see the recent additions of theater projects and I spoke to my spiritual funkadelic friend, visual and performance artist, Mercury Wolff. We discussed Chameleon in more detail and she told me what is the budget to start promoting this and other events to get the traction we need to get to the high rollers. I was kind of stupefied for a moment. I admitted to myself how much I really hate how romantic I am. I get so caught up with this euphoric high that hits me like a cascading ocean wave but Mercury let me feel the currents hit me with a splash of pragmatic clarity. I needed to realize that in order to even do these events, I would have to realistic think of the money that will be involved on props, paying, the artists, the lighting, costumes, and crew. I wish I could say I don’t need anybody and I can do this all by myself but what good is that. That is completely and utterly selfish and impossible. I will be the team leader because I am Scorpio with a Virgo Ascendance and a Scorpio with a Virgo Ascendance leads.

We decided that in order to get the ball rolling I would need to get the Kickstarter rolling but before I do I must get this checklist done and get my meeting my assembled slices of heaven and start making the love that is Chameleon.

Here are what needs to be done:

  • Show Agenda- How the event will take place and set up
  • Breakdown sheet- budget, props, what is needed for events
  • The names and purpose of planned events- (Valentine’s Day, Earth Day)
  • Confirmation with venues in mind
  • Designs of the V-Day event (the walls, the stage, the props, presentation)
  • Invitation list- People to invite (investors, art gallery owners, labels)
  • Business Plan Presentation for investors
  • A call-out for artists and musicians- create a registration in the WordPress to have the artist register
  • Create business cards to pass out to the different people I will meet from now to February
  • Create a MailChimp for Chameleon- set up the press release and newsletter, that will explain everything
  •  Draft press releases and newsletter- any other campaigns
  • Paperless Post (already plan the invitations [do not send them] and compile the list and draft invitation)

After that was said and put to print, I asked Mercury if she wanted to partner up with me. She excitedly obliged. It is a match made in heaven so today I announce that Red Light Studios and Jennifer Brigitte will unite and collaborate to make Chameleon the dream come true project that it deserves to be.

Then today, while sitting in Starbucks, a progressive hypnotist and holistic doctor by the name of Frank Maye, that frequents the coffee shop, came and had our conversations. Frank is a wonderful man. I started to speak to him back in May when I was writing this play called The Dirty Scoundrel that eventually was laid to rest. Scoundrel is the story of Vanessa Miller, the heir of a surveillance agency thought for dead returning as a gas masked vigilante punishing the Three Horsemen of Wolfmeyer and Company with their own appliances they use to invade civilians lives.

As I spoke about Chameleon and how certain I am about this play, more so than any other project I have ever planned, we spoke about the Earth and how the Earth has negative magnetism and that the solar system possess the positive magnetism that the Earth selfishly craves to pull the people in. When a soul meets its mate, it is all kinds of wonderful and easy to explain but finding the soul purpose of why we exist is what makes us strive to make this world a better place. It is why the world craves for the universe’s positive charge because we crave the energy within us.

Frank confided with me the lives of  his patients who are dealing with grim cancer prognosis. He told me the anecdote of a warrior and gave me advice for me. Frank started off by asking me a bizarre question if I knew who Spike Lee is? You know, Do the Right Thing, Inside Man, Jungle Fever, and Malcolm X, that man.  The holistic doctor has a patient who knows Spike Lee. He informed me that he is a Dean at New York University and then everything after that did not sound like a suggestion but a message from Hathor herself, my ascended master. He told me to write a concise cover letter about my project and instead of writing to him about my sob story of a poor little girl torn inside a broken home, he told me to write the tale of warrior because he knows that’s exactly who I am, a natural born warrior. I was taken aback while Frank continued to tell me to write the true tale that defines me, the story of warrior who never allowed adversary to define her. I was shocked by his words as continued. I further explained that I never met my biological father whom I refer to as a sperm donor because he might as well be that and I am estranged from my parents who never seemed to like me as a human being.

Frank thus carried on and tell me that in that cover letter I should write about my project (on page, single spaced) about Chameleon and request funding/sponsorship for my project and a space at NYU. He said that he sees in me the future of this business and a treasure that NYU always strives to look for. Now, when I was in high school, my dream film schools were Calarts and NYU. I just never thought I would go. I don’t have the money nor the grades for NYU. Because of how the world was caving in on me, my straight A’s in my last semester of college took a nose dive. I was ready for that semester. I went from the dream student to the lost cost and I wish I had people to understand me. Here was this man telling me to veer off the application process and whatnot and tell Spike Lee about this project and where I see this project head towards. Coincidentally, the place I know this project will go is to New York so it all fell in place. But it did not stop there. Frank then told me to accompany my cover letter with an excerpt of the script and any other material that showcases my “brilliant” talent. Again, coincidentally, I am in the middle of writing the novel version of Chameleon that will be the whole story, whereas the theatrical experience can only do so much. The novel is in part of a marketing tool to brand the merchandise. I showed the rough draft to my godfather who is convinced that I am some sort of writing prodigy. I cannot fathom to even but myself in that level. I am a 23 year old girl, not the next literary legend.

I love to write and make my mark in the arts and humanity world but I am also an average girl with big dreams and a mission to showcase my vision.

At the end if the conversation, Frank advised me to get acquainted Spike Lee. He told me to enclose the letter with a request to have a meeting with him in his office at NYU to discuss Chameleon and NYU. He assured me that Lee would read the letter and when he calls to schedule the meeting, buy your ticket to New York and where the best crisp suit I have. Show him I am not a little wounded girl but a powerful woman. The final piece of the puzzle was when he informed that when I am ready to send him the package, sent it to him through a FedEX package people know the power that package possess. The last thing Frank told me was this:

A warrior is not someone who asks ‘What can I do for me’ but someone who asks someone who asks others how to help them.

I was floored. I cried to tell you the truth. It has been such an eye-opening experience to me these last couple of days of just my dedication to Chameleon that I am in awe of the SMALL things this project as already accomplished. I have feel like this is the first project to have this kind of pure light beaming from the universe. I hugged Frank as I cried. When he left Starbucks, it hit me. Everybody has their guardian angel, their own Harvey Garland, teaching them about the world around them and that is Frank Maye to me. My light worker revealed himself to me and I am happy. Wherever I go, I will always thank him for building me up and never tearing me apart. Instead of thinking of me as this delusional kid typing on a laptop dreaming the impossible dream, he told me I was the future and that made my heart cry with a heavy sigh as if I just took the path to the road less taken.  I am still uncovering the power that Chameleon  brings. Maybe, because of it, I will meet my twin soul for where ever he is right now, rest assure that your twin is healing and she is a warrior. I thought for a second maybe he was also subtly telling to send a similar package to him. It does not hurt to try. I believe I will do so. The only thing I know is that this project has wings to fly.

Leave a comment